RPE Program

Sexual violence, including rape, is preventable. Recognizing this, Congress passed the Violence Against Women Act in 1994. This landmark legislation established the Rape Prevention and Education (RPE) program at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The goal of the RPE program is to strengthen sexual violence prevention efforts. It operates in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and six U.S. territories.
North Carolina’s Department of Public Health, Injury and Violence Prevention Branch, currently funds 11 programs around the state to plan and implement sexual violence primary prevention programming in communities and on college campuses.
Questions?  Contact Jen Przewoznik, [email protected]
RPE Flow Chart -2

The money for the Rape Prevention Education Grant is allocated through the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA). This money is then funneled through the Center for Disease Control to each state. In North Carolina, this money is granted to 11 programs through the NC Department of Health and Human Service (NCDHHS). These programs include NCCASA and the Tier I and Tier II grantees  (as listed below). NCCASA is funded to be the primary technical assistance provider for the RPE grantees in the state of North Carolina.

RPE Grantees

Tier I

Tier I grantees have not been funded by the RPE grant since 2009. As part of their contract, grantees must implement a Community Readiness Assessment to gauge their community’s readiness to engage in sexual violence prevention work.

Tier II

Tier II grantees have been funded for at least one grant cycle since 2009.